Greater Roslindale Health Organization

The Greater Roslindale Health Organization, Inc. is a 501c3 nonprofit started by a group of local residents in 1975 in response to a lack of health services in their communities. In 1977 the health center opened its doors, doing business as the Greater Roslindale Medical and Dental Center (GRMDC), with a mission to offer accessible and affordable comprehensive primary care services to the residents of Roslindale, West Roxbury and Hyde Park.

The Board of Directors are elected each year at the Annual Meeting in October. The Board is comprised of thirteen elected members; three of whom shall be providers and 10 of whom shall be consumers. Consumer seats are apportioned among Roslindale, West Roxbury and Hyde Park. In addition, there can be two at-large seats to provide representation for those communities outside of the main service area. Download the membership application.

Hermena F. Clark Service Award

Each year at the Center's Annual Meeting, GRMDC honors a member of the Community with the Hermena F. Clark Service Award. Hermena Clark (1914-1998) was a long-time Board Director for the Greater Roslindale Health Organization, Inc. She was well-known as a caregiver to more than sixty foster children and a strong advocate for the underserved. This award in her memory recognizes an individual who has selflessly served the Community.

The Greater Roslindale Health Organization is currently seeking nominations for the 27th annual award to be bestowed in October to an individual who has unselfishly helped residents living in Roslindale, West Roxbury or Hyde Park. Examples of individuals include those who have helped at a local food pantry, public health advocates, and school or church volunteers.

Nominations will be accepted through June 16th, 2023. Persons nominating an individual must write their name telephone number in an email describing why this person is deserving of this recognition so that the Award Committee can contact them. Please the nomination form - all completed nomination forms must either be e-mailed to, mailed to Award Committee, GRMDC, 4199 Washington St., Suite 1, Roslindale, MA, 02131, or faxed to 617-323-7870 by Friday, June 16th, 2023. The award will be bestowed in October 2023.

Award Recipients

  • Cheryl Rosenberg – 2023 
  • Leah Arteaga – 2022
  • Janice Williams – 2021
  • Greater Roslindale Medical and Dental Center Staff – 2020
  • Sabrina Ivory  – 2019
  • Grace McMann – 2018
  • Stephen J. Smith – 2017
  • Alan J. MacKinnon - 2016
  • Nora Baston – 2015
  • Joanne Prince – 2014
  • Tom Donahue – 2013
  • Steve Gag – 2012
  • Karine Martirosyan – 2011
  • Winston H. Lloyd – 2010
  • William Romond – 2009
  • Joseph Faletra - 2008
  • Elvis Garcia – 2007
  • Sister Nancy Braceland - 2006
  • Honorable Thomas Menino – 2005
  • Dr. Carol O’Neil - 2004
  • Cathy Slade - 2003
  • Alice Hennessey - 2002
  • Rose O. McIntyre- 2001
  • Greg Laham - 2000
  • Jean Brewer – 1999